Bingley Grammar School

Awards Evening 2015

Bingley Grammar School's annual awards evening on Tuesday 15th December was once again a great success – students (past and present), parents, staff and governors came together at St. Georges Hall in Bradford to celebrate both academic and extra-curricular achievements.
The evening was kicked off by our Electric Guitar group with Hammer Yourself a Merry Little Christmas – a gentle version of Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas segueing into a high energy rendition of Queen's Hammer to Fall.

Certificates were presented for Post-16 Examinations, GCSEs and BTEC awards as well as other academic achievements and services to the school.
Head teacher Luke Weston and Chairman of Governors Chris Quinn spoke about our new school ethos Belong Grow Succeed which was followed by the premiere of Bingley Grammar School's new whole school LipDub video which met with laughter and much applause.

Year 13 student Declan Keeble was awarded with The Graham Webber Award for Contribution to the School Community in recognition of the major part he played in producing/editing the school LipDub film. Each department and area of the school was represented in the video which features over 1750 students and 100 staff. The video will be available from midday today via the school website.

Notable award winners at the evening were:

Dominic Phillips (now studying Natural Sciences at Cambridge) - The Alan Smailes Memorial Prize for Academic Achievement (4 x A* at A level), plus Year 13 subject prizes for Science and Mathematics.

Emily Patterson (now studying PPE at Oxford) - The Alice Townley Scott Scholarship for Academic Achievement (2 x A* & 2 x A).

Jacob Jagger (Year 12 here) - The Foundation Governors' Prizewinner for Academic Achievement and the Harold Sutcliffe Prize for Science (14 passes at GCSE, including 9 x A*).

Talented musician and Year 12 student Philippa Booth was awarded with The R Johnson Music Award and performed an amazing violin solo of Summer from Vivaldi's Four Seasons.

The entertainment didn't stop there – our Rock Challenge group performed an incredible dance piece choreographed by Alisha Smith in Year 13, and our drama group Bingley Grammar Productions performed an extract from the musical Hairspray which was directed and choreographed by Alicia Sharpe and Leah Jeffrey (both Year 13 students).

The evening concluded with a vote of thanks from our Head Boy Max Isherwood and Head Girl Lilly Chattoe followed by a rousing performance by our drum group, Drumline.

We are immensely proud of all our students and their enthusiasm and determination to succeed. The Awards evening gives us all a time to celebrate and reflect on these achievements and the past academic year.

< Back to all news stories